Cowboy Home       Favorite Music       Album Details       Artist BioFirst posted, Jan 7, 2007
Last update, May 8, 2009

Various Artists Published by ©Rhino, Records 1993 (Sony Music Special products A25026)
This album does not appear to still be in production. However if you Goggle on "Songs of the west volume 4" you may still find a few in various places. I can not find any reliable reference to volumes 1 through 3 if they ever existed. I bought this one at a roadside stand somewhere in South Texas around 1994.

Songs Of The West Volume 4
  1. The Magnificent Seven Al Caidola
  2. Bonanza Al Caiola & His Orchestra
  3. High Noon (Do Not Forsake Me) Tex Ritter
  4. Gunsmoke CBS Orchestra
  5. The Good, The Bad and The Ugly Hugo montenegro
  6. The Lone Ranger (William Tell Overture) ABC Orchestra
  7. South Of The Border (Down Mexico Way) Gene Autry
  8. Rawhide Frankie Laine
  9. On The Old Spanish Trail Roy Rogers
  10. Wagon Train NBC Orchestra
  11. Ballard Of The Alamo Marty Robbins
  12. Maverick Conducted by David Buttolph
  13. Don't Fence Me In Roy Rogers
  14. The Rebel - Johnny Yuma Jonny Cash
  15. The Ballard Of Paladin Jonny Western
  16. Legend Of Wyatt Earp Hugh O'Brian
  17. The Rifleman ABC Orchestra
  18. The Ballad Of Davy Crockett Bill Hayes
  19. Changing Channels TV switching (weird little piece)

Update (May 8, 2009)

Thanks to a listener we now know albums 1 through 3 did exist.
The four CD's are part of a limited boxed set from Rhino issued in 1993
Here is the list. (these are not in my mix at present)

Here is the track list from Volume One - "Cowboy Classics"

  1. Back In The Saddle Again
  2. Tumbling Tumbleweeds
  3. Cool Water
  4. Cattle Call
  5. (Take Me Back to My) Boots and Saddle
  6. Gunfight at the OK Corral
  7. Big Iron
  8. Leavin' Cheyenne
  9. Cowboy Blues
  10. I Want To Be A Cowboy's Sweetheart
  11. Ragtime Cowboy Joe
  12. Ride Cowboy Ride
  13. Mule Train
  14. The Strawberry Roan
  15. The Line Rider
  16. The Last Round Up
  17. The Wayward Wind
  18. Happy Trails

Here is the track list from Volume Two - "Silver Screen"
  1. I'm An Old Cowhand (From The Rio Grande)
  2. Rock Me To Sleep In My Saddle
  3. Singin' In The Saddle
  4. A Melody From The Sky
  5. That Silver-Haired Daddy Of Mine
  6. New San Antonio Rose
  7. California Rose
  8. One Has My Name (The Other Has My Heart)
  9. When It's Lamp Lightin' Time In The Valley
  10. Twilight On The Trail
  11. Old Rivers
  12. Sioux City Sue
  13. I Love You So Much It Hurts
  14. Don't Go Near The Indians
  15. Jingle Jangle Jingle
  16. Ridin' Down The Canyon
  17. Desperados Waiting For A Train
  18. Last Of The Silver Screen Cowboys

And here is the track list from Volume Three - "Gene Autry and Roy Rogers"

  1. The Yellow Rose Of Texas
  2. Roving Cowboy
  3. Under Fiesta Stars
  4. Echoes From The Hills
  5. Home On The Range
  6. Blue Bonnet Girl
  7. Ages And Ages Ago
  8. Cowboy Night Herd Song
  9. Tears On My Pillow
  10. That Pioneer Mother Of Mine
  11. Tweedle-O Twill
  12. Dust
  13. Be Honest With Me
  14. When I Camped Under The Stars
  15. Buttons And Bows
  16. Lovenworth
  17. Dixie Cannon Ball
  18. Hoppy, Gene, And Me